Skip to content

Student media get Associated Press awards

Emerson student media organizations and several individual students were the recipients of Associated Press-Radio Television Digital News Association Awards on April 26.

Carl Stevens, a reporter for WBZ-AM, emceed the AP-RTDNA ceremony. The presenters were former Emerson adjunct professor Bob Clinkscale, WCVB-TV director Donna Hennessey, Associated Press reporter Bob Salsberg, and Sara Lavoie ’04, press secretary for the Massachusetts Department of Transportation and former broadcast journalist. Both Clinkscale and Hennessey are past recipients of the RTDNA Lifetime Achievement Award.

WERS 88.9 FM won the following 10 radio categories: Station of the Year, Public Affairs, Newscast, Investigative Reporting, Hard News Feature, Feature Reporting, Continuing Coverage, Use of Sound, Documentary, and Website. News Director Kyna Doles ’13 and her staff accepted the awards.

WEBN-TV (an affiliate of the EC-RTDNA Chapter) won the following categories for TV: Breaking News, Documentary, Feature Reporting, Sports Program, and Best Website for

Emerson Independent Video (EIV) won the following TV categories: Newscast and Weather Presentation. News Director Michelle LaPlant ’13 and her staff accepted the awards.

RTDNA Student Awards: Dominique Banas ’13 and Felecia Bearden, MA ’13, won the Robert F. Clinkscale Journalism Integrity Award. Rachel Smith, MA ’13, won the George Esper International Award. Pamela Cyran, MA ’13 and Katherine Finnell, MA ’13 won the Victoria Snelgrove Journalism Ethics Award. Charles Williams ’13 won the Trisha Lawless Community Journalism Award while Liz Montaquila, MA ’13 and Catherine Ross ’13 shared the Kevin McNicholas-John Henning Political Journalism Award. Katie O’Donnell, MA ’13 won the Donna Hennessey Journalism Award and Nicole Gouveia ’13 won the Thomas P. Jaworski Radio Journalism Award.

(Visited 106 times, 1 visits today)



Leave a Reply