Skip to content

Journalism Department awards announced


journ awards

Rachel Smith '13, winner of the Bob Hoyt Journalism Excellence Award, with Carole Simpson, senior leader-in-residence of the Journalism Department. (Photo by Rory McCann '13)

Several Journalism Department students received awards April 27 for their hard work and excellent reporting during the 2012-13 school year.

The awards were presented in the Charles Beard Room of the Little Building. WFXT-TV/Fox 25 reporter Catherine Parrotta ’07 was the emcee. The presenters were Senior Leader-In-Residence Carole Simpson, WCAX-TV reporter Keith McGilvery, MA ’08, former Emerson adjunct professor Bob Clinkscale, and WERS-FM interim marketing director Beau Raines. Journalism Department Chair Paul Niwa presented former adjunct professor Clinkscale with a special citation honoring him for 38 years of teaching at the College.

Department of Journalism: Radio Television Digital News Association Award – RTDNA: Mike Saccone ’13. The Radio Television Digital News Association Award is presented to an outstanding senior in broadcast journalism who believes in the ethics and goals of the Association, has strongly supported chapter activities, and who demonstrates dedication to the chapter.

Department of Journalism: Print Journalism Excellence Award : Adriana Herdan ’13. The Print Journalism Excellence Award is presented to a graduating senior whose journalism work and contributions in the classroom exemplify the highest standards and qualities of print journalism.

Department of Journalism: Victoria Snelgrove Award for Journalism Ethics:  Darian Harvin’13 and Gina Varamo ’13. The Victoria Snelgrove Award for Journalism Ethics is given to a graduating senior in journalism who has set high standards for ethical journalism in his/her work. This award was established in 2004 in memory of Victoria Snelgrove by the Journalism faculty.

Department of Journalism: Bob Hoyt Journalism Excellence Award: Rachel Smith, MA ’13. The Bob Hoyt Journalism Award is given to a graduating broadcast journalism major who believes in innovation and has a strong interest in management. It is given in honor of Bob Hoyt, an award-winning TV news director who created the Eyewitness News System and later taught at the College. This award was established in the 1990s by gifts from Hoyt's family, friends, and alumni.

Department of Journalism and WERS-FM: Mike Morgan Award: Kyna Doles ’13. The Mike Morgan Award is presented to a graduating senior who has served in an exemplary manner on the staff of WERS Radio and has career goals in broadcast journalism. The award was established in 1989 in memory of Mike Morgan ’72 by gifts from his family and friends.

Department of Journalism and the Graduate Office: Journalism Graduate Student Award: Amy Hansen, MA ’13 and Yiping Yang, MA ’13. The Graduate Student Award is given to a student who has completed outstanding work, and has set high standards of excellence in his or her journalism work. 



Kyna Doles '13, winner of the Mike Morgan Award, with WERS-FM Interim Marketing Director Beau Raines. (Photo by Rory McCann '13)


(Visited 95 times, 1 visits today)



Leave a Reply