Skip to content

The 29th Annual EVVY Awards To Honor Emerson Trustee

The 29th Annual EVVY Awards will take place on Saturday, May 15, at Emerson's Cutler Majestic Theatre at 219 Tremont Street. The show will be broadcast live on the Boston Neighborhood Network (BNN) and via web stream at

An Emerson College tradition, the EVVY Awards is the largest student-run televised production in the United States. The show is a live, multiple-camera show modeled after the Oscars and Emmy award ceremonies.

Hundreds of Emerson students gain hands-on experience as a result of their participation with the EVVY Awards. This year, the producers say they will be revolutionizing the show with a quicker moving format and a more mature style.

“I came to Emerson because of the EVVYs,” executive producer Danielle Iacovelli '11 said. Iacovelli wants to produce live television, so when she heard about the EVVYs from an Emerson tour guide, she said it solidified her decision to come to Emerson. “The EVVYs was by far the best thing I've done at Emerson; there isn't another student TV show like it anywhere.”

This year's EVVY Awards Alumni Award of Distinction will be presented to alumnus Doug Holloway, recent President of NBC Network Distribution Partnerships and Affiliate Marketing. Holloway is also a member of the Emerson College Board of Trustees as well as the Board of the National Association for Multi-Ethnicity in Communications (NAMIC), the NAMIC Foundation, and the T. Howard Foundation. The award will be presented by Blake Hayes '07, a DJ for New York's 95.5 FM; Debra Crosby, owner of A Quest Actors Studio in Salem, Massachusetts; and Gabriel Polonsky, owner of Gabriel Polonsky Studios in Boston, Massachusetts.

Students submit their work throughout the year in a wide variety of categories. These submissions are sent out to local and national professional judges in their respective fields. Some of this year's judges include Jack Bender, co-executive producer of Lost; and Mark Burnett, executive producer of Survivor. Notable past judges have included Rachel Dratch of Saturday Night Live; Wendey Stanzler, a director from Grey's Anatomy; and Matt Cheese, editor of Finding Neverland. Previous onstage appearances have been made by Sean Hayes of Will and Grace; Rich DiPirro, creator of Deal or No Deal; Denis Leary; Gregory Hines; Matt Lauer; and John Cusack.

Tickets to the EVVYs are 20$ and can be purchased online at  or in person at Emerson's Cutler Majestic Theatre Box Office.

(Visited 49 times, 1 visits today)



Leave a Reply