Skip to content

Emerson Has Strong Showing at Local Emmys, Student Excellence Awards

Emerson College alumni and students raked in the journalism honors this spring, taking home a slew of Boston/New England Emmy Awards and Boston/New England Student Awards for Excellence.

Among the alumni winning local Emmys from the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) were:

WCVB co-anchor Ed Harding ’75, who won for Newscast: Evening, Larger Market, for NewsCenter 5 at 6 pm’s coverage of an auto auction crash, as did WCVB Assistant News Director Gerry Wardwell ’80.

Wardwell also won in Breaking News for coverage of a Methuen plane crash and in Continuing Coverage within 24 Hours for Channel 5’s coverage of the Free Speech Rally in Boston, an award he shared with reporter Nicole Estaphan ’06.

Richard Feindel ’09, photographer/editor with WCVB, won in Promotion Program: Single Spot for “Brady Brady Brady.” Ben Phillippo ’07, WCVB cinematographer, also won for the same spot.

Gino Mauro ’82, videographer for WCVB’s Chronicle, won in Politics/Government for “Doubts-Blind Justice,” and for Special Event Coverage for “Holiday Lights,” an award he shared with WCVB Executive Producer Ro Dooley Webster ’87.

And Frederick Wheeler ’13, photographer with McArthur Wheeler Productions LLC/WCVB won in Societal Concerns Program/Special for Beyond the Border: The Opioid Pipeline.

WBZ reporter/writer David Wade ’95 won in News Report: Light Feature for “The Champ.”

Greg Almeida, MA ’00, who won in the Commercial category as executive creative director, and in the Writer: Short Form category as copywriter for the Boston Bruins, for the spot, “In Our Blood.”

Jim Burgoyne ’84, senior director of production and operations for NBC Sports Boston, for Sports Event/Game (Live/Unedited) for Boston Celtics basketball.

Chris Cantergiani ’91, senior investigative reporter for WHDH, in News Speciality Report: Business/Consumer for “Solve It 7.”

Keith Macri ’05, executive producer/cinematographer for Spartan Productions/Spartan Race Sports won in Feature/Segment for “Abigail Serra: The Natural”

Erling Moe ’99, photographer with Boston 25 News, won in News Specialty Report: Politics/Government for 25 Investigates: “Rep on the Run.”

The New England Emmys were presented Saturday, June 2, at the Marriott Boston Copley Place.

Robert Way ’18 cleaned up in NATAS’ Student Awards for Excellence with two wins and two honorable mentions. Way, a reporter, won in the General Assignment – Light News category with “45 Years of Selling Christmas Trees,” and in the Talent category. He got honorable mention in General Assignment – Serious News for “Prescription Drug Take Back Day 2017,” and in General Assignment – Light News for “A Closer Look at This Year’s Cranberry Harvest.”

Samantha Avalos ’19, producer for WEBN, won in the Newscast category. She also took honorable mention in General Assignment – Serious News for “Boston Mayoral Election Results.”

Christopher Rogers ’19 won in the Sports – Live Event category for “ECS Special Olympics Highlight Reel.”

And the Good Morning Emerson team of executive producers Kayley Bell ’18, Tristan Flanagan ’20, and Emma Giulianti ’20, and director Kelli DiTomasso ’18 got honorable mention in for Newscast.



(Visited 61 times, 1 visits today)



Leave a Reply