Skip to content

Fleming, Micucci Honored for Having “Spirit of Emerson”

Betsy Micucci, left, and Robert Fleming

Two long-time employees of Emerson College were honored for their commitment to their jobs and the community with Spirit of Emerson Awards.

Iwasaki Library Executive Director Robert Fleming and Betsy Micucci, director of clinical programs at the Communication Sciences and Disorders Department’s Robbins Center, were presented with their awards during the Faculty Assembly held Tuesday, March 28, in the Bill Bordy Theater.

Fleming’s leadership makes the library “truly special,” said President Lee Pelton in presenting the awards, and Micucci “has made an exceptional commitment” to the College and the community.

Fleming and Micucci were selected from a pool of faculty, staff, students, and alumni nominated by fellow members of the Emerson community. A committee of faculty, staff, students, and alumni then decided upon the winners based on their meeting at least 3 of 10 award criteria.

In addition to his responsibilities directing the Iwasaki Library, Fleming has made significant outreach efforts to recruit diverse candidates for open positions in the library. He is also committed to civic engagement and has volunteered with the Alternative Spring Break program, as well as led work on the Carnegie Classification for Community Engagement program.

“Bob is recognized beyond the Emerson campus in his leadership roles with the College Library Directors Discussion Group and many others,” Pelton said. “His hands-on approach makes the Iwasaki truly special.”

Micucci has worked in CSD for 27 years, serving as Robbins Center director for the past 19. She has cultivated an engaged and active alumni community for the program, developed the first pre-college Communication Disorders program, and created one of the first transgender voice programs in greater Boston.

“Betsy is also a warm, generous person who summarily has made an exceptional commitment to Emerson, its students, the CSD Department, her colleagues, and the community at large,” Pelton said.

This year's committee included Institute Professor Eiki Satake, chair; 2016 Spirit of Emerson winners Jade Zaroff ’17 and Jacqueline Holland of the Lacerte Family Writing and Academic Resource Center; graduate student Abhishek Suryawanshi; Lucille McCormick ’17; Title IX Coordinator Pam White; Director of Intercultural Student Affairs Tamia Jordan; and Campus News Director Erin Clossey. The committee was administered by Gabriela Kula ’17, with VMA Professor Tom Cooper and Sharon Duffy, senior associate dean of Student Life, serving ex-officio.


(Visited 24 times, 1 visits today)



Leave a Reply