Skip to content

Emerson A Cappella Group Performs at Food Bank Fundraiser

Nine members of Emerson College a cappella group Acappellics Anonymous performed at a fundraiser for the Greater Boston Food Bank (GBFB) last week, where they put on an eclectic set of songs, ranging from a “Boogie Wonderland” mashup to “Reflections” by MisterWives. 

The event, which took place on Thursday, September 22, was the nonprofit organization’s Fourth Annual Food is Medicine fundraiser to support The Greater Boston Food Bank End Hunger Here. This year’s focus highlighted GBFB’s public and community health initiatives.

“We had a great time performing for such a wonderful cause,” said Acappellics Anonymous Vice President Andy Pham ’17. “We shared a bunch of our songs, old and new, with a friendly and smiling audience. There were also some delicious tacos served, which I personally thoroughly enjoyed.”

Tom Cooper, professor in the Visual and Media Arts Department and an advisor to the A Cappella Council, approached Acappellics Anonymous President Samuel Chase ’18 about the opportunity to perform at a Greater Boston Food Bank fundraiser.

“I believe it is important for all groups to try and get off campus a much as possible,” Chase said. “Although Emerson is a wonderful place to be able to perform, I always encourage to get off campus to spread our love for music to those who haven’t heard of the group. Not only is it a great networking opportunity, but also a whole lot of fun!”

Acappellics was founded in 2009 and since then, it has been the group’s mission to provide an alternative musical outlet for the Emerson community to improve the Greater Boston community by combining theatrics and service with traditional a cappella performance. Acappellics will next be performing live on WERS as part of its Live Music Week series on Sunday, October 30, with other a cappella groups on campus.

The members of Acappellics Anonymous are: Chase, Pham, Kayleigh Larin ’17, Abby Arora ’18, Jake Smerechniak ’18, Andrew Alcaraz ’18, Conor Biddle ’18, Alicia Babin ’19, Daniela Fanelli ’17, Annie Krivit ’19, Mike Gilchrist ’19, Noah Barson ’19, and Michael Voegele ’19. Inactive members include Luke Farley ’17, Alex Giggey ’17, Amanda Coscia ’17, and Maddie Lies ’17.

(Visited 33 times, 1 visits today)



Leave a Reply