Skip to content

Emerson Has Leading Role in IRNE Nominations

Wade McCollum, left, and Valerie Vigoda in Ernest Shackleton Loves Me, which earned ArtsEmerson four IRNE Award nominations, including Visiting Play, Visiting Actor for McCollum and Visiting Actress for Vigoda. 

Eleven Performing Arts faculty and alumni, and nine ArtsEmerson productions have been nominated for Independent Reviewers of New England (IRNE) Awards, which honor the best in theater across the region’s large, mid-size, and fringe companies.

The winners will be announced at the 20th Annual IRNE Awards ceremony on Monday, April 11, at the Holiday Inn in Brookline.

Faculty member Jonathan Mastro was nominated for two awards in the Large Stage division: Sound Design for Huntington Theatre Company’s Come Back, Little Sheba and Music Direction for the Huntington’s A Little Night Music.

Associate Professor Scott Pinkney was nominated for Lighting Design for Israeli Stage’s Ulysses on Bottles, also in the Large Stage division.

On the Small Stage, faculty Andrew Clarke was nominated for New Play for his Academy Fight Song, produced by Centastage, the same show for which faculty and alumnus Joe Antoun was nominated for Director (Play), Fringe.

Faculty Jane Howland got a nomination for Set Design for Light Up the Sky (Lyric Stage Company), and Arshan Gailus got a nod for Sound Design for Appropriate (SpeakEasy).

Faculty Spiro Veloudos was nominated for Director, Musical for Lyric Stage’s City of Angels, and faculty emeritus Robbie McCauley was nominated for Solo Performance in Bad Ass: Jazz ‘n’ Class, produced by Sleeping Weazel.

Alumni Mark Linehan ’07 and Sam Simahk ’10 got acting nominations: Simahk for Actor in a Musical in SpeakEasy’s Big Fish, and Linehan for Supporting Actor in a Musical for Wheelock Family Theater’s Shrek!.

Tyler Kinney ’11 was nominated for Costume Design for Actors Shakespeare Project’s Henry VI, Part 2.

ArtsEmerson also garnered a number of nominations for its productions.

Ernest Shackleton Loves Me received four nominations, including Visiting Play, Large Stage. Valerie Vigoda was nominated for Visiting Actress, and Wade McCollum was nominated for Visiting Actor. Alex Nichols is up for Lighting Design.

Four ArtsEmerson plays received two nominations apiece: Sound Design and Projection Design (both Brian Fairley) for The Grand Parade; Visiting Play, Large and Visiting Actress (Barbara Wysocka) for Chopin Without Words; Visiting Play, Large and Visiting Actress (Isabella Rossellini) for Green Porno, Live on Stage; and Visiting Play, Large and Visiting Actor (Hershey Felder) for Hershey Felder as Irving Berlin.

Tangela Large was nominated for Solo Performance in Mr. Joy, Elijah Rock is up for Actor, Musical for Breath and Imagination, Meow Meow is nominated for Visiting Actress for An Audience with Meow Meow, and Dominic Marsh is up for Visiting Actor in Kneehigh’s Tristan & Yseult.

The IRNE Awards were founded in 1995, and are selected by a panel of theater critics from newspapers and trade journals across the region.

This year’s IRNE’s will be dedicated to the late Barbara Meek, a longtime member of Trinity Repertory Company who won an IRNE Award for her 1997 portrayal of Sadie in Having Our Say.

(Visited 43 times, 1 visits today)



Leave a Reply