Skip to content

EVVYs nominated for College TV Award


The 2014 EVVY Awards has been nominated for a College Television Award from the Emmy Foundation, which will hold a ceremony on April 23 in Los Angeles. (Courtesy Photo/Taylor Ness)

The legendary student-run EVVY Awards at Emerson has been nominated for a College Television Award from the Emmys Foundation for its 2014 awards show.

While it isn’t the first time the more than 300 students working on the show have been nominated (the EVVY Awards won the College TV Award two years ago), the crew is ecstatic about the recognition. They are proud to be validated for their hours of rehearsing, producing, organizing, and then staging the actual ceremony.

“I’m incredibly proud of the show we produced,” said Joseph Awugul ’14, one of the executive producers of last year’s show. “The EVVYS are given to students aspiring to work in the entertainment industry, and we’re being recognized by the Television Academy, which gives out Emmys to professionals in our industry.”

The other executive producers of last year’s EVVYs were Zach Elrich ’14, Tara Heaslip ’14, and Tess Ryan ’14.

Actor Jennifer Coolidge ’85, of American Pie, Legally Blonde, and 2 Broke Girls fame, will receive this year’s Alumni Award of Distinction when the EVVY’s are held May 16. Last year’s recipient was film producer Aaron Ryder ’94, and in 2013 it was actor and comedian Bill Burr ’93.


Jennifer Coolidge '85, on right, at the Emerson College Los Angeles opening gala in March 2014 with (from left) Larry David, P '12, Emerson Trustee Max Mutchnick '87, and Emerson President Lee Pelton. 

“We’re the country’s largest student-run, multi-camera awards show, and it’s nice to see the show recognized for what it is,” said production supervisor KJ McCann ’16. “It has raised the bar for all the future EVVYs.”

The College Television Awards is put on by the Emmys Foundation, which is part of the Television Academy. Industry professionals at the Academy judge submissions and give awards to the best college productions in the nation. Awugul, McCann, and the rest of their enormous crew will find out whether they’ve won when the College Television Awards ceremony takes place on April 23 in Los Angeles. The EVVYs are nominated in the Alternative category.


Last year's student-run EVVY Awards has been nominated for a College Television Award. (Courtesy Photo/Taylor Ness)

“We worked for more than a year on this show, and to have our show—which has winners chosen by industry professionals—judged by industry professionals and be chosen as a nominee is incredibly exciting,” Awgul said.

The 34th Annual EVVY Awards, which, according to McCann, will be submitted for another College Television Award, will be held Saturday, May 16, at 6:45 pm at the Cutler Majestic Theatre. Tickets will be available for purchase online or through the Cutler Majestic box office starting on April 6. 

(Visited 51 times, 1 visits today)



Leave a Reply