Skip to content

Faculty participate in Inclusive Excellence program

Inclusive Excellence

Nineteen Emerson faculty members participated in the Inclusive Excellence Faculty Fellows program May 19-21. (Photo by Alayne Fiore)

Nineteen faculty members from a variety of departments participated in the Inclusive Excellence Faculty Fellows program May 19–21 to develop methods to address issues of diversity that often arise in educational settings.

Led by Sylvia Spears, vice president of the Office of Diversity and Inclusion; Lori Beth Way, senior advisor in the Office of Academic Affairs; and Robert Amelio, director of diversity education and human relations, the program examined ways to include instructional practices and other strategies that will enhance students’ intercultural competence.

The faculty members took part in presentations, small and large group discussions, reflection exercises, a student panel, and hands-on course enhancement activities.

Spears said the program was launched, in part, due to faculty members’ requests for guidance in handling diversity issues. “With this program,” Spears said, “we hope to provide faculty the skills and resources to take advantage of the many teachable moments that can organically occur in the classroom that facilitate critical learning and cultural development.”

Below is a list of the faculty members who participated in the fellowship.

Communication Studies

Spencer Kimball, scholar-in-residence

Darrin Korte, part-time faculty

Agatha Morrell, part-time faculty

Institute for Liberal Arts and Interdisciplinary Studies

Claudia Castaneda, senior scholar-in-residence


Joseph Pereira, part-time faculty

Marketing Communication

Roxana Maiorescu, assistant professor

Lu Ann Reeb, executive-in-residence

Performing Arts

Josie Bray, part-time faculty

Billie Jo Joy, part-time faculty

Christina Marin, assistant professor

Courtney O’Connor, part-time faculty

Visual and Media Arts

Charles McCarry, production designer-in-residence

Paul Turano, assistant professor

Writing, Literature, and Publishing

Priscilla Andrade, part-time faculty

Rage Hezekiah, part-time faculty

Molly McGillicuddy, part-time faculty

Kim McLarin, assistant professor

Peter Medeiros, part-time faculty

Claudia Ward de Leon, part-time faculty

(Visited 42 times, 1 visits today)



Leave a Reply