Skip to content

Emersonians and Emmys

UPDATE: Todd J. Greenwald ’91 took home an Emmy for Outstanding Children's Program, Tom Bergeron P ’13 Outstanding Host for a Reality-Competition Program, and David Klotz '94 Outstanding Sound Editing for a Series. Congratulations to Todd, Tom, and David.      

Emerson College once again will send a team of students to Los Angeles to cover the primetime Emmy Awards, which is taking place Sunday, September 23. Eight students across all disciplines will be in attendance: Jordan Moncada ’13, Mykah Murphy ’14, Justin Ney ’14, Ali Inglese ’13, Dominique Banas ’13, Vince Rappa ’14, Jackie Tiongson ’13, and Alyssa Altman ’13.

Also joining this year’s red carpet coverage is Emerson Channel Manager Diana Barton ’91. The ABC Network and Bob Bain Productions named her producer of the “Emmys Red Carpet Live,” which is the lead-in program to the Emmys ceremony.

In addition, this year’s Emmy Award nominations include a number of alumni and parents of the College:

Primetime Emmy Nominations

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series
Larry David P ’16
As Himself, Curb Your Enthusiasm, HBO

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series
Sofia Vergara P ’16
As Gloria Delgado-Pritchett, Modern Family, ABC

Outstanding Writing for a Variety Series
Eric Drysdale ’93
Writer, The Colbert Report, Comedy Central

Outstanding Children’s Program
Todd J. Greenwald ’91 (winner)
Executive Producer, Wizards of Waverly Place, Disney Channel

Outstanding Host for a Reality or Reality-Competition Program
Tom Bergeron P ’13 (winner)
As Host, Dancing with the Stars, ABC

Outstanding Special Class: Short-Format Nonfiction Programs
Jay Leno ’73
Executive Producer, Jay Leno’s Garage;,

Outstanding Art Direction for Variety or Nonfiction Programming
Joe Celli ’91
Art Director, 84th Annual Academy Awards, ABC

Outstanding Costumes for a Miniseries, Movie or a Special
Chrisi Karvonides ’83
Costume Designer, American Horror Story: Halloween, Part 1, FX Networks

Outstanding Creative Achievement in Interactive Media: Original Interactive Television Programming
Shira Lazar ’04
Executive Producer, What’s Trending with Shira Lazar,

Outstanding Original Music and Lyrics
Scott Wittman ’76
Music and Lyrics by, Smash: Pilot/Song Title: “Let Me Be Your Star,” NBC

Outstanding Sound Editing for a Series
David Klotz '94 (winner)
Music Editor, Game Of Thrones – “Blackwater,” HBO 

Outstanding Art Direction for a Single-Camera Series
Dave Blass '90
Production Designer, Justified – “Cut Ties,” FX Networks 

Daytime Emmy Nominations and Winners

Outstanding Drama Series Directing Team
William Ludel ’70 (winner)
Director, General Hospital, ABC

Outstanding Drama Series Directing Team
Erica Meyer ’06
Production Associate, The Young and the Restless, CBS

Outstanding Special Class Series
David Vos ’82
Senior Producer, Ask This Old House, PBS

Outstanding Talk Show: Entertainment
Glenn Meehan ’83
Producer, The Talk, CBS

Outstanding Drama Series Writing Team
David A. Levinson ’97 (winner)
Writer, Days of Our Lives, NBC

Sports Emmy Award Winners

Outstanding Live Event Turnaround
Patti Wheeler P ’16
Executive Producer, Inside the Headsets / 27th All-Star Race, Speed

Outstanding Live Sports Series
Dick Ebersol P ’97
Producer, NBC Sunday Night Football, NBC

Outstanding Playoff Coverage
Dick Ebersol P ’97
Executive Producer, NBC NFL Wildcard Saturday, NBC 

(Visited 28 times, 1 visits today)



Leave a Reply