Skip to content

Who Will Win Best Collegiate A Cappella Group of 2011?

WERS 88.9 FM, Emerson College’s award-winning, student-run radio station, is hosting its annual All A Cappella competition Sunday, February 13 from 2:00 to 5:00 pm at the Cutler Majestic Theatre. The station’s weekend All A Cappella show is one of its most popular programs, and the All A Cappella competition, now in its fifth year, usually sells out.

The five a cappella groups that will compete this year for $750 and the title of Best Collegiate A Cappella group are: the BU Dear Abbeys, Tufts SQ, UMass Doo Wop Shop, Dartmouth Aires, and Bowdoin Meddies. Emerson’s own a cappella group, Emerson Noteworthy will also perform as the hosting college.

WERS DJs Alexa Palladino ’11 and Max Peters ’12 will emcee this year’s All A Cappella competition. The judges are Julia Avanti ’07, former WERS program director; Ryan McGovern ’11, Emerson Noteworthy president; and Sandi Goldfarb ’78, Vice President, Rasky Baerlein Strategic Communications.

Tickets are $25 and can be purchased at or by calling 617-824-8000. The competition will also be broadcast live on and live streamed on WERS 88.9 FM. For more information, visit

(Visited 21 times, 1 visits today)



Leave a Reply