Skip to content

Stan Nance to Lead Spirit of Emerson Committee

A photo of Stanford Nance
Senior Associate Director of Athletics Stan Nance.

Stanford Nance has been a booster of all things Emerson since arriving at the College 20 years ago, so it’s only fitting that the Senior Associate Director of Athletics takes over as chair of the Spirit of Emerson Committee this academic year.

The Spirit of Emerson Committee, comprised of representatives from across the College community, administers and each spring selects winners of the Tom Cooper Spirit of Emerson Award and the Robert Colby Kindness Award. Nance takes over from previous chair, Professor Jabari Asim, who is on leave, and as an ex-officio member, will not vote on award winners.

“This is a tremendous honor, as I was so impressed with previous leader Professor Jabari Asim. He embodies the Emerson Spirit, and his passion for the Emerson community is second to none,” Nance said. “Obviously big shoes to fill, but I am up for the task with the help of our current team, to chair the Sprit of Emerson and to continue to move it forward.”

Read: 20 Questions with Stanford Nance

The Spirit of Emerson Award, established in 2014 and named for its founder, Visual and Media Arts Professor Emeritus Tom Cooper, in 2022, “is given annually to individuals or groups who have exemplified the Spirit of Emerson College during the past academic year or longer, as determined by the … Committee.” The winner or winners receive a total of $400.

The Kindness Award, created in 2020 in honor of Performing Arts Professor Bob Colby, who died the following year, “honors a person or persons who spreads unconditional, unwavering, and selfless kindness among the Emerson community.”

Nance has filled a number of roles for the Athletics Department since 2003, including Assistant Athletic Director, Interim Athletic Director, recruiting coordinator, transportation coordinator, and Athletics liaison to the offices of Undergraduate Admission, Facilities, Information Technology, Financial Aid, Public Safety, and Institutional Advancement. In 2009, he was presented with the Distinguished Service Award.

(Visited 388 times, 1 visits today)