Skip to content

19 faculty in Inclusive Excellence fellowship

diversity fellows

Nineteen faculty members participated in the Inclusive Excellence Faculty Fellows program May 20-22. (Names listed in story below.)

Nineteen faculty members from a variety of departments participated in the Inclusive Excellence Faculty Fellows program May 20-22 to develop methods to address issues of diversity that often arise in educational settings.

Led by Sylvia Spears, vice president of the Office of Diversity and Inclusion, and Lori Beth Way, an American Council on Education Fellow working for the Office of the President, the program examined ways to include instructional practices and other strategies that will enhance students’ intercultural competence.

The faculty members took part in presentations, small and large group discussions, reflection exercises, a student panel, and hands-on course enhancement activities.

Spears said the program was launched, in part, due to faculty members’ requests for guidance in handling diversity issues. “With this program,” Spears said, “we hope to provide faculty the skills and resources to take advantage of the many teachable moments that can organically occur in the classroom that facilitate critical learning and cultural development.”

Below is a list of the faculty members who participated in the fellowship.

Performing Arts

Gail Burton, part-time faculty member

Fredericka King, senior music historian-in-residence

Eric Weiss, auditions and admissions coordinator

Institute for Liberal Arts and Interdisciplinary Studies

Cary Moyer, scholar-in-residence


Jerry Lanson, associate professor

Cindy Rodriguez, journalist-in-residence

Bradford Verter, historian-in-residence

Writing, Literature and Publishing

Sarah Ehrich, part-time faculty member

Indira Ganesan, part-time faculty member

Lise Haines, senior writer-in-residence

Daniela Kukrechtova, lecturer

Benjamin Lobpries, part-time faculty member

Wesley Rothman, part-time faculty member

Eric Sepenoski, part-time faculty member

Communication Studies

Mohamed Khalil, part-time faculty member

Marketing Communication

Kristin Lieb, assistant professor

Visual and Media Arts

David Kociemba, part-time faculty member

Diane Pansen, part-time faculty member

Nancy Salzer, part-time faculty member

(Visited 43 times, 1 visits today)



Leave a Reply